IGNOU MSCIS Syllabus – Candidates can find the latest session Syllabus Structure for MSCIS Programme from here. IGNOU New MSCIS Syllabus is available with a credit system in which each of the courses is given appropriate credit. IGNOU has implemented a credit system in MSCIS courses which is useful for course selection at the time of taking admission and for re-registration.

IGNOU MSCIS Candidates have to choose their required credit courses every semester or every year to complete their MSCIS (Master of Science in Information Security) Programme. There are many courses available for MSCIS course selection in which some of which are compulsory courses and some are optional courses.


First Year

First Semester

No. of Course Name of Course Credits
1 Introduction to Information Security 4
2 Network Security 4
3 Cyber Security 4
4 Policy, Standards and Law 2
5 Practical (Information, Network and Cyber Security) 2

Second Semester

6 Application and Business Security Developments 4
7 BCP, DR Planning and Audit 3
8 Digital Forensics 3
9 Practical (BSD, BCP, DR Planning and Audit and Digital Forensics) 2
10 Project-1 4

Second Year

Third Semester

11 Cyber Attack: use of Technology in Cyberspace 2
12 Cloud and Infrastructure Security 2
13 Cyber Security using Python 4
14 Data Science and Big Data 4
15 Practical (Cyber Attacks, Cloud Security and Data Recovery etc.) 4

Fourth Semester

16 Web Application Testing and Audit
17 E-commerce and Cyberspace 4
18 IoT Security 2
19 Latest Trends in Information and Cyber Security 2
20 Practical (Web Application, audits, e-commerce and IoT) 2
21 Project-II 4

Total Credits


IGNOU University is working regularly to revise its Syllabus of IGNOU MSCIS on the basis of future scope and removes its old syllabus. IGNOU may change or update MSCIS Syllabus at any time they need so we work to provide the latest syllabus structure to our MSCIS candidates for their study.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *